I am the valley in your embrace.

I am the valley in your embrace (Mountain love poem).

Striations on its many faces
tell its techtonic tale –
The Himalayan Mountain range.
Though jagged and unforgiving,
they hold me.

Atop the peaks
a caerulean sky;
its azure fingertips
fill the crevasses.

And at every glance
fly
strings and strings of prayer flags
like caterpillar legs
in wind-tickled dance.

Once starched cloth-cut squares:
yellow, red, blue, green.
Now pastelled and parched
by countless days of ferocious sun,
and months of rain;
weathered and tattered
by the years I’ve wept

in reverie of your embrace.

Written Thursday, 10.12.11, in Leh, India.

***

I’ve been traveling in India for the past week, which is why, dear reader, I haven’t posted a peep in a little while.  My apologies for not supplying a heads-up re my webber-tube absence.

At any rate, it has been a ‘word-that-surpasses-amazing’ experience.  I cannot say enough about how special and important it is, as a living breathing being, to travel.  And to travel abroad.

I had planned to spend this time away to read read read and write write write but, and I am not saddened to say, I haven’t had a chance to do much of either because we’ve been a bit busy exploring and experiencing India.  Our visit to Leh inspired me to write a love poem; a companion piece to the desert love poem I wrote during my trip to China last summer.

More India-inspired postings to come… 

 

2 thoughts on “I am the valley in your embrace.

  1. Great metaphor — very nice poem. Enjoy your adventures in India.

    Is that your water color above. if not, interested in knowing who the author is — love the mixture of abstraction, cubism and surrealism!

    • Hi Zumpoems,

      Thanks! All photos I post on my blog are ones that I take. This one I took on my Nokia cell phone using a filter called ‘false colors’. I love that you thought it was a water color! I can feign having painting skills. 🙂

      O

Leave a Reply

